[IUCr Home Page]

IUCr 1993 Triennial Report - American Crystallographic Association (ACA)

In its first triennium as a Regional Associate, the ACA revised the By-Laws of the organization to formally recognize its new responsibility for representing crystallographers from the United States and from Canada. During the triennium, the ACA held three annual meetings. These meetings were characterized by large attendance and innovative new sessions and Schools. The 1991 meeting was held in Toledo, Ohio, with 800 participants and over 450 abstracts. The Martin Buerger Award was presented to J. Dunitz of the ETH-Zentrum, Zürich, Switzerland, and the B. E. Warren Diffraction Award was presented to J. Jorgensen of Argonne National Laboratory, Illinois. A protein crystallization Workshop attracted over 220 attendees prior to the start of the meeting. The 1992 meeting was held in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, in conjunction with the 50th Pittsburgh Diffraction Conference. The ACA's Fankuchen Memorial Award was presented to D. Caspar of Brandeis University, Massachusetts, and the Pittsburgh Diffraction Society's Sidhu Award was presented to R. Stevens of Harvard University. The 1993 ACA meeting was held in May in Albuquerque, New Mexico. The Patterson Award was presented to G. Sheldrick, University of Göttingen, Germany.

The ACA has developed two initiatives to promote the field of crystallography: a Summer School and a special programme at conferences for young scientists. The Pittsburgh ACA meeting was preceded by a Summer School for Crystallography which provided formal and practical training for 32 students over a 10-day period; during the School, data were collected for 24 structures, 20 of which were solved and refined during the School. This Summer School was so successful it was repeated in 1993. To welcome young crystallographers at their annual meetings, the ACA has a programme for young scientists with a faculty advisor. Programme highlights include special pre-meeting mixers and a formal mentoring programme. The ACA also presents the Pauling Award to the best student work presented at each meeting.

Serving on the ACA Council for the period were: J. Flippen-Anderson (1991-1992, President 1991), K. Watenpaugh (1991-1993, President 1992), R. E. Marsh (1992-1993, President 1993), E. T. Adman (Vice-President 1993), D. Duchamp (Past-President 1991), V. Cody (Secretary 1991-1993), S. N. Rao (Treasurer 1991-1993), I. D. Brown (Canadian Representative 1991-1993).

10 May 1993                              P. W. CODDING, Representative

[Next section] [Previous section] [Index] in IUCr 1993 Triennial Report
[1990] [1996] IUCr Triennial Report: American Crystallographic Association (ACA)

Updated 30th March 1997

Copyright © 1993 International Union of Crystallography

IUCr Webmaster