[IUCr Home Page]

IUCr 1996 Triennial Report - American Crystallographic Association (ACA)

During the triennium, the ACA increased its membership and held three annual meetings which continued to attract large numbers of attendees. During the 1993 meeting, held in Albuquerque, New Mexico, the Patterson Award was presented to Professor G. Sheldrick of Göttingen, Germany. The meeting was preceded by a workshop on Biomolecular Interactions: a Practical Workshop on Computational Approaches. The 1994 meeting was held in Atlanta, Georgia. The Bertram E. Warren Award was presented to Dr M. J. Bedzyk and the Martin J. Buerger Award to Professor P. Coppens. A three-day Symposium on New Trends in Small-Moiety Crystallography provided an interesting and well attended opening session for the meeting. The 1995 meeting was held in Montreal, Quebec, Canada. The Abstracts were posted on the World-Wide Web and this proved to be a useful way to highlight the science presented at the meeting. The Fankuchen Award was presented to Dr K. N. Trueblood and Dr J. P. Glusker.

During the triennium, the ACA continued to offer a Summer School for Crystallography in Pittsburgh, which provides practical education in crystal structure determination. The ACA was also particularly successful in raising funds to support crystallographers in the countries of the Former Soviet Union. The ACA remains an active member of the American Institute of Physics (AIP) and provides representatives to several AIP committees. The ACA accepted an application from Mexico to join the regional association.

8 April 1996 P. W. CODDING, Representative

[Next section] [Previous section] [Index] in IUCr 1996 Triennial Report
[1993] [1999] IUCr Triennial Report: American Crystallographic Association (ACA)

Updated 14th October 1997

Copyright © 1997 International Union of Crystallography

IUCr Webmaster