[IUCr Home Page]

IUCr 1996 Triennial Report - International Organization of Crystal Growth (IOCG)

During the triennium 1993-1996, the activities of the IOCG were governed by the preparation and performance of the Ninth International Summer School on Crystal Growth (ISSG-IX), Papendaal/Arnhem, The Netherlands, 11-16 June 1995, and the Eleventh International Conference on Crystal Growth (ICCG-XI), The Hague, The Netherlands, 18-23 June 1995. Both events were organized by the Dutch Association for Crystal Growth (KKN) with Chairpersons J. O. van der Eerden (for ISSCG-IX) and C. F. Woensdregt (for ICCG-XI), both University of Utrecht, The Netherlands.

During ICCG-XI, meetings of the IOCG Executive Committee, of the IOCG Council and of the General Assembly were held under the Chair of its resigning President B. Cockayne. The following resolutions, among others, have been approved: The Brazilian Society for Crystal Growth, the Czech and Slovak Association for Crystal Growth and the Romanian Materials Science & Crystal Growth Society are formally accepted into the IOCG. The offer of the Japanese Association for Crystal Growth to hold ISSCG-XI and ICCG-XIII in Japan is accepted. The possibility of the IOCG becoming an International Scientific Associate affiliated to ICSU, with a possible change of name to International Union for Crystal Growth will be explored by the new President and the Executive Committee. An honorary post entitled Honorary Principal Founder of IOCG is created on the Executive Committee for the period 1995-1998 for the retiring Secretary and Principal Founder of the IOCG, M. Schieber, Jerusalem, Israel, in recognition of his distinguished service to this organization. The following Officers and Executive Committee members are elected for the period 1995-1998: President: T. Nishinaga (Japan); Vice-Presidents: K. W. Benz (Germany), R. F. Sekerka (USA); Secretary: G. B. Stringfellow (USA); Treasurer: C. F. Woensdregt (The Netherlands); Past President: B. Cockayne (UK); Honorary Principal Founder of the IOCG: M. Schieber (Israel). Executive Committee: P. Bennema (The Netherlands). A. A. Chernov (Russia), J. J. Favier (France), A. Horowitz (Israel), Jiang Min-Hua (China), H. Komatsu (Japan), H. J. Scheel (Switzerland), J. N. Sherwood (UK). Ex officio members: C. F. Woensdregt (The Netherlands), Chairman of ICCG-XI; M. Schieber (Israel), President of ICCG-XII; P. M. Dryburgh (UK), IOCG representative to the IUCr; H. Klapper (Germany), IUCr representative to the IOCG; and others.

In addition, 35 Councillors representing national associations, five Councillors representing nations who do not have a national association, and four ex officio Councillors representing International Unions have been approved. The ex officio Councillor representing the IUCr is M. H. Dacombe, the Executive Secretary of the IUCr.

The following IOCG Prizes, sponsored by the Dutch Association for Crystal Growth and by the ICCG-XI Organizing Committee, were awarded: The Frank Prize to P. Bennema (The Netherlands) and the Laudise Prize to R. F. Feigelson (USA). The first IOCG Distinguished Service Award, sponsored by the Japanese, Italian and British Associations for Crystal Growth, was presented to M. Schieber (Israel).

17 May 1996 H. KLAPPER, Representative

[Next section] [Previous section] [Index] in IUCr 1996 Triennial Report
[1993] [1999] IUCr Triennial Report: International Organization of Crystal Growth (IOCG)

Updated 14th October 1997

Copyright © 1997 International Union of Crystallography

IUCr Webmaster